2014 Kia Soul Earns Five-Star Safety Rating From NHTSA

Dec 23, 2013 12:26 PM EST | Matt Mercuro


The new 2014 Kia Soul has earned a top five-star overall safety rating from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, according to the automaker.

Kia's latest Soul earned five stars for side and frontal impact crash tests. It also earned four stars in the rollover test.

The Soul's safety rating was an improvement compared to its predecessor. The 2013 Kia Soul earned a four-star overall safety rating from the NHTSA.

"We took a great deal of care with the design and engineering of the second-generation Soul and NHTSA's testing has validated that effort," said Michael Sprague, Kia Motors America executive vice president of marketing and communications, in a statement on Dec. 20.

Standard safety features the 2014 Soul is equipped with includes six airbags, advanced front seat-mounted side airbags, and electronic brake force distribution.

The Soul competes with similar models like the Scion xB, Nissan Cube and Scion xD.

The 2014 Soul earned "Good" ratings from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety.

Tests conducted by the IIHS include the roof strength, side, moderate overlap front, head restraints and seat crash tests.

Other 2014 Kia vehicles to earn five-star ratings includes the Sorento crossover and Sedona minivan. 

See Now: OnePlus 6: How Different Will It Be From OnePlus 5?

© 2019 Auto World News, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
Get the Most Popular Autoworld Stories in a Weekly Newsletter

Join the Conversation

Real Time Analytics