iPhone Update Lets You Opt Out of Group Messages

Jun 02, 2014 04:57 PM EDT | Jordan Ecarma

Close

With the iOS 8 update, the iPhone will have new features including the capability to opt out of group messages and send disappearing photos on iMessage.

The revamped messaging app will let users rename threads, add or remove users from the thread, temporarily mute notifications and eject themselves from the conversation if needed, reported.

Apple introduced iOS 8 on Monday at the Apple Worldwide Developers Conference, showcasing new features such as location-sharing and sending audio and video messages, according to .

The company has apparently implemented a "Find My Friends" location feature into iMessage that will let users share their location with other people for a set period of time or forever. Another change will let users share photos, videos and audio messages to be viewed for a short time before being automatically deleted, similar to Snapchat.

Pictures, video and audio can be easily recorded by pressing a finger on the camera icon and releasing it, TechCrunch reported. The update will also have a feature to set messages to expire after a few minutes, when it will be automatically deleted from the other user's phone.

TechCrunch noted that the flaw with iMessage is that it isn't compatible with other platforms, so Android users, for example, can't get in on the conversation.

See Now: OnePlus 6: How Different Will It Be From OnePlus 5?

© 2019 Auto World News, All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
Get the Most Popular Autoworld Stories in a Weekly Newsletter

Join the Conversation

Real Time Analytics